Bringing back goodies

With only twochinese wedding basket weeks’ until I take off for Hong Kong, it’s funny to hear old friends’ requests to bring back certain goodies.  Uncle Robbie & Auntie Norma (not real aunties and uncles, just very old friends who we lived near in Hong Kong back in the 60s and 70s, and who we have stayed friends with ever since) are wanting some Pak Fah Yeow, an ancient herbal medicine that wards off germs.  This I have to find down the dodgy back streets of TST (Tsim Sha Tsui).

In the meantime, I’ve had a great long discussion with my mum about Chinese Wedding Baskets, (she’s not getting wed by the way) and how I must bring her one back so that she can use it to hold all her sewing things in.  My children Tom and Charlotte want clothes from Stanley Market; I get the feeling that most of my week will be looking out for gifts and not travelling to all my old haunts.

Still, it’s all good fun and no doubt I will enjoy the journey in finding these items.  If you have any requests – don’t call me….

 

 

Leave a Reply

